ICF New Board Directors – Media Release

May 25, 2021

Island Corridor Foundation Announces Five New Board Members and Names New Board Leadership

Nanaimo, BC – The Island Corridor Foundation (ICF) announced five new Board Directors and new Board Co-Chairs, who will each help support the work of the foundation in preserving and developing the Island Rail Corridor.

“We’re pleased to welcome the new Board Directors and look forward to their unique and diverse expertise and perspective as we continue our work to develop the Island Rail Corridor”, said Larry Stevenson, CEO.

The ICF also chose Cowichan Valley Regional District Chairperson, Aaron Stone, as its new board Co-Chairperson. Mr. Stone is the elected Mayor of Ladysmith and is also serving as the Chairperson of the Island Coastal Economic Trust.

Dr. Judith Sayers, President of the Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council and long-time board member was chosen to continue as Co-Chair. Dr. Sayers is a member of the Hupacasath First Nation and was recently appointed as Chancellor of Vancouver Island University and is a member of the Order of Canada.

“I am excited to be part of such a strong and diverse group of Board Members and I look forward to working with each of them as we advance the goals of the Island Corridor Foundation. I am also incredibly excited to be working alongside Dr. Sayers as we lead the next chapter in returning rail service to Vancouver Island” said Aaron Stone.

Dr. Sayers added, “On behalf of the Board, I want to recognize the leadership and dedication of Mr. Phil Kent who has decided it is time to step away. Mr. Kent has been a passionate and visionary advocate for the Foundation since its inception. His enthusiasm for the Foundation and the work to preserve and develop the corridor has been an inspiration for all who know him. Mr. Kent has our heartfelt thanks for everything he has done in support of the Foundation and we wish him well for the future.”

The new Board Directors will be seated for a two-year term with the ICF effective May 20, 2021.
The new Board Directors are:
Mr. Tyler Brown – Regional District of Nanaimo
Mr. Brent Edwards – Councillor, Snaw-Naw-As – Nanoose First Nation
Ms. Charlene Everson – Councillor, K’omoks First Nation
Mr. Aaron Stone – Chair, Cowichan Valley Regional District
Mr. Bill Yoachim – Councillor, Snuneymuxw First Nation

CONTACT: Andrea Thomas, Manager, Corridor Development 250-754-7254 andreathomas@islandrail.ca

The Island Corridor Foundation is a non-profit society and federally registered charity established for the purposes of owning and managing the rail corridor on Vancouver Island.